Lower Sackville Movies

The Post

The Post

The Post

Score: 6.52 / 10

Release Date: January 12, 2018
Director: Steven Spielberg
Producer: Amy Pascal, Kristie Macosko Krieger, Steven Spielberg
Studio: 20th Century Fox
Starring: Meryl Streep, Tom Hanks, Sarah Paulson, Bob Odenkirk, Tracy Letts, Bradley Whitford, Bruce Greenwood, Matthew Rhys, Alison Brie, Carrie Coon, David Cross, Jesse Plemons, Michael Stuhlbarg, Zach Woods
Rating: PG
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 115 minutes

Write a Review


The Post movie reviews

  • 10

    The Post

    Sunday, January 14, 2018 6:49:19 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    First of all. Anyone who trashes or criticizes this film has insufficient information to even pass an opinion on what happened. I was 21 years old in 1971and demonstrated against the war and filed for a conscientious objection status because I knew the Vietnnam War was a big mistake. McNamara knew we could not win the war and so did Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon. The Pentagon lied and mislead all of these presidents in order to avoid the image that we would lose the war which we did. However, Nixon was the worst. He not only lied but tried to cover up his lies, tried to discredit the press and broke many laws to hide his lies and his disgusting plot to destroy any evidence. Nixon deserved to be impeached but he also deserved to be put in jail which is exactly what will happen with Trump. Just wait and see. This film was well scripted, directed, filmed and acted. Anyone who attacks Meryl Streep or this film is, quite honestly, totally misinformed if not stupid!

  • 2

    The Post

    Sunday, January 14, 2018 1:16:27 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    MY ONLY CHOICE! 1 STAR..BEYOND TRITE, NOT ONLY THE STORY, BUT THE ACTORS

  • 9

    The Post

    Sunday, January 14, 2018 10:38:18 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    As mentioned in another review “we should have withdrawn” but it was happening in1963 and helped get a President assassinated. Bell helicopter was virtually bankrupt and see how they turned arround in ‘65-‘67. This is the story of brave people using the only option available.

  • 10

    The Post

    Sunday, January 14, 2018 12:03:13 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Simply fabulous! Timely - historic - intellectual!

  • 9

    The Post

    Saturday, January 13, 2018 9:46:14 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent film. Spielberg is a pro and clearly he wants to champion people who do the right thing, even if it puts them in danger. Mrs. Graham was a visionary publisher! And Ben Bradlee was an astute editor. and Streep and Hanks are professionals...they make acting look easy!

  • 10

    The Post

    Saturday, January 13, 2018 9:16:13 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent historical story .

  • 4

    The Post

    Saturday, January 13, 2018 9:12:07 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Stealing classified docs during Vietnam era is the most tension you'll get in this snoozer. The point of Vietnam was the DRAFT. The film misses that and the audience looses sympathy. Sorry. Not real good in spite of seasoned actors.

  • 10

    The Post

    Saturday, January 13, 2018 8:08:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Lived through the time frame...So many friends killed...Was very painful to learn at the time that we not only should not have entered that War, but we should have withdrawn almost immediately...The acting and portrayals were spot on...

  • 9

    The Post

    Saturday, January 13, 2018 7:38:50 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    To the reviewer who recommends watching "The Paper" thank you, I will look for it at the library. To the reviewer who "liked the content of this movie" me too.

  • 9

    The Post

    Saturday, January 13, 2018 11:19:55 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I am giving this movie a five star. I am Canadian and probably because of my age I did not know there was such a long drawn out war in Vietnam. This movie gave me some insight into what happened in this dark period of history. The US knew they could not win the war but still kept their troops there for a long time. I could debate the political issues but I won't. Just love the movie for the info and content.