Halifax Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.72 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Rating: PG
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:10:45 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Terrible film. Even from a basic plot and character point of view it sucked. We got to see the destruction of Luke's Character which was a real low point in my opinion. I think people who like this film simply like pretty lights and visuals and the fact it checks every PC box imaginable. Just a bad film. How did people get paid to make this film? It's like welfare for hollywood types. Show up, create a turkey, collect a paycheck. If you like the original trilogy, avoid.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:05:15 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    If it were totally standalone, it would be an average kind-of-enjoyable thing with many plotholes. But like this...it destroys the mythology, and offers nothing except meh-meh to replace what it destroyed. I WANTED to be surprised, but not in such a way that the surprises all ring hollow and/or unconvincing. Let's see why... Luke contemplating killing Kylo...nope. This happens to be a personal obsession of Rian's - "if you met Hitler while still a kid, would you kill him?" Check out his movie Looper for proof of this. And it could have been convincingly placed in this mythology...only it isn't. Something like that has to be earned, not shoehorned in. And yeah, it does character-assassinate Luke, this is simply not him, not even if he changed. An example (only one of the possible ways this could have been made convincing, and no it wasn't my idea to start with, got it from someone on the Net): if Ben/Kylo and all or most of Luke's students got converted by Snoke and rebelled, Luke may have been forced to kill them while crying, then could not bring himself to kill his own nephew.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 10:01:09 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I really tried to enjoy the movie, i forced myself to like it, but everyday I get angrier at the realization that rian Johnson just made the worst star wars movie. Please Disney, please lucasfilm, stop killing star wars, stop killing something i loved so much

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:59:34 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Is it possible that a Star Wars movie can be worse than Michael Bay's Pearl Harbor? Well, no. Why? Because the events at Pearl Harbor Dec. 7, 1941 actually happened. Michael Bay completely disrespected anyone associated with that real life historical event. But The Last Jedi, if Star Wars was a real event, comes close.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:59:28 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie just is poor in general and a freaking disaster as a Star Wars film. First of all 2/3 of this movie is a total mess of insane stupidity and SJW agenda. People of color are all heroes and led by number of empowered woman, First Order are stupid idiotic men who are LITERALLY HITLERS from the 60s cartoons. Do you really think that your viewers are THAT stupid and should be fed with that kind of Top Dog Luke is a old bitter idiot who does not know better cause his student knows its all from the start. Kylo is more bland then in Force Awakens. Whole casino planet is a stupid nonsensical 30 minutes joke that was written to give Fin some artificial and useless story to tell. From the 2.5h of this movie may be 30 minutes were worth it, the rest of it is just a freaking filler crap that should not even be in this movie.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:59:25 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I had an unsettling feeling about this film when the "can you hear me?" jokes started at the beginning of the film. it only got worse from there. Just awful, dreadful movie-making. ONE scene stuck in my memory: that of using a capital ship as a Weapon of Lightspeed Destruction. The rest was easily forgotten. This may be the 1st Star Wars movie I don't purchase or see again

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:58:26 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Real Bad. Hard to live up to the legacy but that didn't even try to fit in with the continuity of the other movies and such an awful ending. After that one, what is the point? Every new movie is going to keep changing everything set by the last movie; no mysteries will be answered; and clearly scrapping the bottom with plotting.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:50:48 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    If you watched the original trilogy (episodes IV-VI) and have formed an attachment to those characters (especially Luke) you are going to get slapped in the face. Before the movies came out I kept seeing Mark Hamill interviews where he was trying to tactfully voice decent with the direction the movie was going. In one interview he actually states "I fundamentally disagree with everything (the writers) think about Luke." Man was he right. The Force Awakens left so many enticing questions to be answered, along with a bevy of mysterious characters who we all wanted to learn more about. The Last Jedi, not only fails to answer ANY important questions, it destroys the possibility or reason to ever answer them in a meaningful way (either through cheap and banal plot devices or outright character death). As in The Force Awakens the characters all have fast paced adventures while completely avoiding any interesting or meaningful character arcs. The movie is beautiful, but its all eye candy and no substance. Like eating a pile of real candy the initial sugar rush fades and you are left with nothing but the proverbial tummy ache. The more time I have to reflect on the film the more I think it was 1. Terrible. 2. May actually have fundamentally broken the Star Wars world. Perhaps it can be saved, but at this point I can't see how. It looks like Star Wars will end not with a bang but with a whimper.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:50:46 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie doesn't care about the fans nor for anything Star Wars if this is mark hamill and Carrie Fischer last film in Star Wars Disney has done a truly remarkable job in destroying the franchise no matter who directs episode 9 if this movie is canon and not retconned it will be truly be a lost cause for the Star Wars franchise rian johnson ruined Star Wars so spectacularly that I am flabbergasted that Disney would ever consider giving him his own Star Wars trilogy after destroying this one so callously

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:50:42 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The one is for the amazing visuals and wonderful backgrounds. The only good thing about that movie. The story is bad, the acting is bad (except of BB-8). And they end up AGAIN on a WHITE planet fighting AT-ATs wit SPEEDERS!!!!! They shoot in a ballistic arch in space and why do Spaceships without fuel make a full stop? Why does the Empire only shot with one cannon on the transporter? Why to the no just send ONE of the Star Destroyer ahead?