Halifax Movies

Hostiles

Hostiles

Hostiles

Score: 5.78 / 10

Director: Scott Cooper
Producer: John Lesher, Ken Kao, Scott Cooper
Studio: Elevation Pictures
Starring: Christian Bale, Rosamund Pike, Wes Studi, Jesse Plemons, Adam Beach, Rory Cochrane, Ben Foster, Timothée Chalamet
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 134 minutes

Write a Review


Hostiles movie reviews

  • 1

    Hostiles

    Tuesday, February 13, 2018 6:03:30 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was to slow. I thought it would never end.

  • 10

    Hostiles

    Tuesday, February 13, 2018 9:45:56 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Well done and realistic.

  • 6

    Hostiles

    Monday, February 12, 2018 12:02:05 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    TOO SLOW

  • 7

    Hostiles

    Sunday, February 11, 2018 12:59:05 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    As a Native American (Navajo), I appreciated the realism displayed in this movie. Our past historians have reported so much inaccurate representation & bias. It's heart warming to see the true humanity of us all. Well done, ahéhee'/thank you. Veda Glover

  • 6

    Hostiles

    Saturday, February 10, 2018 3:21:23 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I’ve never liked road pictures—including such lauded films as Easy Rider and Thelma and Louise. My distaste is generated by the nature of the genre: Road movies are invariable episodic. The characters head down the road and at each town (or valley or creek) have another contrived adventure. The movies are not so much an integrated and fleshed-out development of the characters facing a life dilemma as a collection of little scenarios laid down one on top of the other. I call them pancake movies. Hostiles is that kind of film. As a result, often the mini-scenarios are overly sentimental. Let me explain. In artistic storytelling (theatre, movies, books) there is a difference between sentiment and sentimentality. If the author or screenwriter is tugging on the reader or viewer to weep or anger without first developing the characters, we feel exploited. The scene comes across as sickly sweet—the cornerstone of sentimentality. For example, in Hostiles there is a scene between the leading character, Captain Joseph Blocker, played by Christian Bale and his wounded black corporal, performed by Jonathan Majors. The emotion of camaraderie and mutual affection is played well but to the hilt. As a viewer, we feel abused by the screenwriter—at least this viewer did. Movie buffs will recognize the storyline within the first twenty minutes of the film: Hated enemies will become the most profound friends. Okay, we get that, but most of the time the bonding feels rushed and, therefore, sentimental. Real sentiment requires time—and relevant detail—to develop pre-existing enmity and eventual kinship. Those concerns aside, the movie is diverting enough. The acting is solid, although I would have appreciated greater existential turmoil in the eyes of the lead actors as they made their transition from haters to lovers. In the end, it is an entertaining movie that—with more patience and attention to detail—could have been a great movie.

  • 1

    Hostiles

    Saturday, February 10, 2018 8:18:41 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Movie starts out great, for about 3 mins, then becomes literally the most boring movie you will ever see. I’ve never seen so many people walk out of a movie an hour in in my life. Not even worth a Bluray watch. Very disappointed

  • 2

    Hostiles

    Friday, February 9, 2018 1:32:13 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    worst movie ever --no plot and bloody

  • 9

    Hostiles

    Wednesday, February 7, 2018 6:55:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very good movie!

  • 9

    Hostiles

    Tuesday, February 6, 2018 7:45:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The era is post-Civil War, around 1892. Christian Bale plays (by all accounts a legendary) U.S. Cavalry officer. Wes Studi, is a Cherokee actor (I've seen him in other films), who here plays a Cheyenne war chief named Yellow Hawk. Fort Berringer is an isolated Calvary outpost located in New Mexico. The movie has scenes depicting an Apache Indian party, and scenes depicting a Comanche Indian war party. This information does not give away the story. This was a very good movie. I was attentive to it and not bored the entire movie. This movie does not take a side in terms of rights to land. This movie is not trying to make a political statement. This movie does an excellent job portraying honor. This movie does an excellent job portraying PTSD. Bale's character suffers from it and so does Rory Cochrane's, he plays First Sergeant Metz. Cochrane does an excellent job of struggling with PTSD, depression. This information should not give away the story but might aid in better understanding what is going on in different scenes. Christian Bale gave an excellent performance as a Calvary Officer. To some reviewers, this character might have been too different than what they are use to seeing Bale do. With an objective mind, I think he pulled off the role superbly. His character is able to manage his PTSD. The movie offers beautiful scenery. I enjoyed seeing the depictions of what life was like during those times: at an outpost, town life, railroad trains, horses as a mode of transportation, mountains, beautiful scenery, the costumes, and the reality that living or raising a family in the wilderness was a potentially dangerous choice. I recommend seeing this movie and making your own rating.

  • 10

    Hostiles

    Tuesday, February 6, 2018 7:05:29 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great script, acting was very good and cinematography was terrific. Had not enjoyed a Western as much since Unforgiven