Halifax Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.71 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Rating: PG
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:50:44 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    When you read all the different reviews for The Last Jedi they can be somewhat confusing. Easiest way to make sense of them and figure out how it really rates as a movie to to simply pay attention to the way that postive reviews are written. You will see a LOT of "Didn't make sense but LOVED it" and "There were tons of odd moments that made me cringe but GREAT film". Ask yourself why even all the positive reviews of 8,9 and even 10 tell you how awkward it was and how they are 'taking a new direction' with the series in this 'turning point' film. Those are the kindest possible terms for a movie that took a massive steaming dump on all the things we loved about Star Wars prior to this. Heroes? All of the things you thought you knew about the Lore and Characters will be completely washed away by the end of the film. Is Luke a brave hero who risked his life to save his father or a broken, selfish and cowardly vagrant? if you believe the former prepare to be disappointed and confused. To keep this spoiler free I will not be listing all of the times this film make me confused,angry and hurt. Read the reviews yourself and you'll see the truth.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:49:20 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    If you are a fan stay away. This movie breaks then kills your childhood all in a 2 1/2 hour time frame. If you are not a fan, this movie kills you brain because of the so many plot holes and it disregards to logic. This movie was made for the SJW, every woman was a Mary Sue and every male was dumb or a coward. Men bad, woman perfect was all this movie had just beating down their Kathleen Kennedy ideology. Like I said, if you are a fan of Star Wars than you have been warned. Disney is not taking care of the franchise.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:47:52 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Absolute mess. Cringy as.... Contagious marvel core plots destroying all good films. I don't need to laugh every 3 mins, I don't want to feel like everything is a joke.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:45:37 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Maybe it is the absolute lack of respect for the saga, the lore, the characters and the fans, maybe it is the lack of military strategy knowledge that leads to some of the dumbest plot decisions I've ever seen in my life. It might be the way Yoda goes bananas and burns all the Jedi books. The thing is, for me, this is the worst film I've seen in my life and killed SW for me. Seriously bad.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:43:20 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Gutted, this film was awful - no wonder Disney forced US cinemas to show it on their largest screens for a minimum of 4 weeks. From the opening 5 mins this film was a farce, at first I thought I was watching a sequel to spaceballs with the 'your mum' jokes and a certain scene which looked like a cross between Mary Poppins and superman but then the jokes come to an abrupt stop when you see what they do to Luke, totally betraying his character.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:41:07 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Well, let's start with most disapointing aspect: All, that was in TFA, all of this unresolved plot points were thrown away. Thanks, Disney, my expectations about you were right. 0 points for you. It's seems to me, that people forgot or even didn't know, that movies are stories at first and visuals at second. And this is second disapointing aspect of film: A ridiculous exchange from plot to visuals. 0 points for you, Disney. Repeating a scenes from original trilogy is not an issue here. It's just a symptom of one of the worst problems of this film: Lack of understanding and appreciation of source material. I don't know if director is a Star Wars fan, but I know something for sure: Fans never mix their favorites with mud! 0 points for you, Disney. And in the end... we have... 0 points! What a surprise!

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:38:45 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    They've killed the saga with this movie and turned it into a joke anyone who's a starwars fan of old who's been waiting for the end of this saga had just been kicked in the teeth. This movies plot was very weak as was the script direction humour and lore everything was off the mark even the language felt wrong for a starwars movie. The rebellion who won 30 years ago and should of been in power have been reduced to the resistance the what? Yeah the resistance instead of the rebellion. We were expecting a Fin and Rey movie discovering the force and becoming jedi and we were treated to the po dameron show they should of stuck to their guns and killed him off in the first of the trilogy. Still they've done the same lame thing with the bf2 single player campaign which is utter trash. The director claims to be a starwars fan but i have my doubts. Was that Yoda using force lightening to burn the tree? Isn't force lightening a dark side force? It has been in every piece of starwars so far. After bf2 and these two terrible movies I'm done with starwars the franchise for me finished at return of the Jedi. Blank Disney and Blank Rian or whatever his name is I'll be boycotting them both from now on.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:26:42 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is the worst and most awful Star Wars movie yet. The movie is terrible. It doesn't fit into any of the other movies. Logically the movie falls apart worse than any other Star Wars movie yet. Most of the movie centers around a rebel (I won't call it resistance, that was a stupid and unnecessary name change from The Force Awakens) group of transports that are running out of gas getting chased by the Empires most powerful fleet. Don't ask me why but apparently the imperial fleet has nothing that is faster than rebellion transports and their tie fighters seem to all be broken down at once. If you ever wanted to see Luke Skywalker milk an alien. Then this movie will cover that base. If you want to see General Leia surrounded by a bunch of women to make modern feminist happy this movie has you covered. If you want virtue signaling about how awful rich people are this movie has you covered. At one point Leia busts through a door by using the force. When this happens you will expect the spice girls to run into the room and yell GIRL POWER. You will also get to see Leia fly through space like Superman. Because that is exactly what every Star Wars fan has wanted for 30 years. What you won't get is an amazing lightsaber battle featuring Luke. You will get to see a bunch of AT-AT's fire at a projection of Luke, though. Because that is what we've all been waiting for since the Return of the Jedi. Did I mention this movie is awful? If you wanted an actual Star Wars movie that embraced the spirit of the original then do not see this movie. This is a Disney movie. For some reason, they felt the need to pepper every serious scene there is in the movie with awful humor. The movie opens with one X-Wing flying right up to the imperial fleet. For some reason instead of blowing up the X-Wing, the Admiral of the imperial fleet starts arguing with Poe. I actually thought I was watching a bad commercial. I could not believe this was the start of a Star Wars mo

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:17:28 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Disney decided to create a corporate, streamlined product with no narrative substance. Best example of this fact comes from incoherent or non-existent character development in Kylo Ren, Tri, and most explicitly Finn. Trash.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 6:05:36 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    2. Who are Rey’s parents? ‘These are not the parents we are looking for, move along.’ In a quick quip Kylo Ren invalidates all deeper interest, revealing that Rey’s parents were no-name deserters. So, no mystery to hold onto there. Unless… this is a clumsily written misdirection from a truth that would be deeper & the only logical possibility...In that this epic has no other Force lending fertile couples other than Leia & Han Solo, Rey IS Kylo Ren’s sister. For now, she is not. Her parents were nobodies. 3. We finally get to see Snoke in the flesh. He is very impressive with powers not shown before in SW-the ability to mind bridge other force users to his own ends. His origin, why he is so powerful, his aims & other abilities- never to be known. Before we could develop a better understanding or compelling fear of him, he allowed a carelessly placed lightsaber to be easily used to kill him. 4. I went in to the first showing, open to the joys of suspended disbelief, & with the Force of will to like this Star Wars movie irregardless of any incongruities & the occasional Jar Jar. The only problem was, by any measure of that far far away galaxy, this was not a Star Wars movie. It's just Mickey's Revenge on the Jedi.