Halifax Movies

The Post

The Post

The Post

Score: 6.52 / 10

Release Date: January 12, 2018
Director: Steven Spielberg
Producer: Amy Pascal, Kristie Macosko Krieger, Steven Spielberg
Studio: 20th Century Fox
Starring: Meryl Streep, Tom Hanks, Sarah Paulson, Bob Odenkirk, Tracy Letts, Bradley Whitford, Bruce Greenwood, Matthew Rhys, Alison Brie, Carrie Coon, David Cross, Jesse Plemons, Michael Stuhlbarg, Zach Woods
Rating: PG
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 115 minutes

Write a Review


The Post movie reviews

  • 1

    The Post

    Monday, February 5, 2018 7:38:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I remember Nixon debating Kennedy, and I lived through those tumultuous times. Why the upheaval, there were so many young kids that society lost all control and SHTF. The Post was filled with kids at the time, and they were all edging to take down the man. It was symbol of their"resistance". The Post implied and lied like they still do very well to this day. The witch hunt was a coup, not about facts. Pass on this fabrication of the real history, and head down to the library for a real education.

  • 2

    The Post

    Sunday, February 4, 2018 12:41:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very disappointing

  • 4

    The Post

    Saturday, February 3, 2018 2:30:38 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    it was not as I had expected considering the stars. I felt it was slightly boring and did not deserve 4 or 5 stars.

  • 6

    The Post

    Saturday, February 3, 2018 5:44:06 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Spotlight, the movie, was 5 stars

  • 10

    The Post

    Thursday, February 1, 2018 7:16:46 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie was great! Despite the fact that I lived through it myself and knew how it ended, it still kept me riveted and on the edge of my seat. The cast was awesome and I especially loved the process of the paper going to press. It is obvious that the poor comments that have been written here are written by those that are quite young or do not know the history (and do not care) that is involved here. I learned a lot and have been educating myself, as well as learning more about this time period; being a teenager then, I tended to not pay a lot of attention to news worthy events. I do however, remember it to be a scary time for our country, and give kudos to the cast, directors, producers and anyone else involved in the making of this film. Five stars for sure!

  • 10

    The Post

    Wednesday, January 31, 2018 1:50:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Watergate was a great time to be alive.

  • 10

    The Post

    Wednesday, January 31, 2018 12:57:21 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    As someone who lived through the events depicted in the movie, and spent eleven years living in Washington and reading the Washington Post every single day, I absolutely LOVED this movie. The Post was a great newspaper and Ben Bradly a great editor. Streep's portrayal of Katherine Graham was spot on (read her life story and you will see shy.) Kudos to Speilberg for making this movie at a time when America needs to hear the message about freedom of the press and how necessary it is in a democracy. Anyone without some knowledge of recent American history or expecting to simply be "entertained" won't get anything out of this film. Personally I found it well made and absolutely riveting even though I knew "the rest of the story"........

  • 4

    The Post

    Tuesday, January 30, 2018 10:31:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I thought the movie was just ok. I think Meryl Streeps role could have been played by anyone ... I'd say the same for Tom Hanks' role. At times it was boring. I can't see them winning an Oscar for their roles.

  • 2

    The Post

    Tuesday, January 30, 2018 7:55:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    So boring!.. left half way through to go shopping!,, more entertaining!,,

  • 3

    The Post

    Tuesday, January 30, 2018 2:55:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Boring. Streep was boring. No development to help me dislike Nixon. Big disappointment.