Halifax Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.71 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Rating: PG
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:19:24 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Rian Johnson erases the lore and mythos of an established universe and gives us one of the worse movies of all time. The Last Jedi is nothing more than an insult to the the previous actors, writers, its fans and its creator. Johnson should not be allowed to part of the new SW movies.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:16:04 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The basic lack of physics understanding, massive plot and logic holes, and terrible characterizations are just a few of the reasons this was so horrible. They trashed the character of Luke, space Leia was absolutely ridiculous. The thirty minutes used for the stupid subplot on casino planet could have been well used to explain all the answers to the questions posed in EP 7. I'm really hoping box office will plummet so they know what an incredible disservice they did to fans.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:15:56 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I saw this film on Dec 27th, I shouldn't have bothered. I shouldn't have been worried about plot spoilers and read the user reviews, the critical ones on here are correct so I won't repeat most of what has been said already, other than the film has death star sized plot holes, some of the most ridiculous plot devices, lame humour, hollow characters, pointless side plots, a complete disregard for the previous movies and Star Wars lore, and some of the most blatent political correctness I've ever seen in a movie. I won't be watching any more Disneyfied milking of this franchise if the upcoming movies are this bad.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:15:26 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I rated this movie lower because of how awfully suspect the critic ratings are. This movie was visually stunning and Mark Hamill and Adam Driver had awesome performances. The major problem with this movie is that it ignores basic storytelling aspects. This is supposed to be part of a trilogy which indicates that the story has some internal consistency. If this was a stand alone movie the writer/director can make their own decisions. Rian Johnson cast away every major decision that was laid out in the previous film. Some have likened it the children playing the game add to the story with a sentence until it gets to one who totally changes the story that came from those before. This movie had an inverse of the Empire Strikes Back story. Several of the characters serve no purpose. Major changes in the force made absolutely no sense when you look at previously established movies. People say there are bold choices. It is not bold to totally ignore established plot lines. So much is desperately wrong with this movie and the fact that the studio insults the intelligence of the audience makes it necessary to rate it even lower.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:15:12 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    DON'T waste your money on this cheap half assed and pathetic attempt at ripping fans off from their money and Rian Johnson have the audacity to say that "it's too big to fail" well it failed you failed and let down 30 years of story and love for a amazing sci-fi series and Idk if you just wanted it to be too pg13 and we need to make rated R because right now the last Jedi is just a sad joke. It's like you didn't even watch force awakens which I already thought was bad but no let's keep lowering the bar for what we call a "great movie" and then you just try to dismiss fans ratings and just say we are nitpicky and trolling. No you are just a terrible movie producer and you apologize and withdraw this pile of crap. Kill it like Eragon and start over with a writing cast that actually cares about star wars not just wants to make another marvel style money machine.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:13:01 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Rian Johnson is a good director but we can honestly says that he's not shining when it's time to write... It's the perfect movie if you want to put your brain under the water for a bit.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:12:39 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A movie full of action sequences without any weight because there is no care put into adding any depth to the universe, making it feel pointless. There was a wonderful opportunity to go into detail about what happened to the Jedi, backstory of Kylo Ren, Snoke, Luke, the religion of the Jedi, anything. Yet the lazy approach was taken. Luke fails miserably as a Jedi instructor and doesn't even study the Jedi Scriptures to find out his error? Come on. Garbage film

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:12:32 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Why critics loved this movie: it subverts and destroys everything that comes before, so it's "unexpected" and jarring. It turns the subtle humor into pure camp slapstick. It invalidates the original's journey of heroes by placing them all in a universe of ultimate failure, deep self-doubt, and sorrow for what could have been. It destroys well-loved characters in meaningless moments. Literally everything about this film is Anti-StarWars. Massive plot holes and ignored history are almost championed as the CGI dazzles your eyes, and the "powerful females" and "heroes aren't real, everyone is their own hero" memes are inserted erratically and without any real emotion. I think BB-8 is a good metaphor for this movie overall: instead of the charming and beloved character you got with R2D2, here you get a constantly spinning mess with no soul or love, and occasionally the head flies off because humor or something. This movie is an insult to movie-making, an insult to fans of the Star Wars universe, and an insult to storytelling.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:10:56 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie was the absolute worst star wars movie, and perhaps one of the worst "block buster" movies of the last few years. I was always a really big star wars fan, I first watched the original trilogy and then the prequels. I can understand some of the hate for the prequels, but these movies go so far beyond that. It was hard for me to realize that this wasn't some fan fiction written by a teenager, but was the product of millions upon millions of dollars. This movie had more plot holes than I can count. The political innuendos are all over the place (We get it you like women being in power). Why did the admiral of the rebel fleet have perfect hair, which was dyed purple, and was wearing a party gown? How can I take her seriously... Tons of cheap jokes thrown in randomly so no "serious" seen can be taken seriously. Remember all those theories about Snoke and how mysterious he was? Well apparently he's just a dumbass who got killed like an overly-talkative bond villain. Rey is still Miss Perfect and she even kinda kick's Luke's ass. Luke isn't a powerful jedi master in this movie, he's a depressed old man who failed at life. Coming into this you think you're gonna at least see him do something interesting considering he's supposed to be a legendary Jedi, but instead is incredibly underwhelming. I could go on and on about this pile but I would probably just be reiterating what others have said. I actually believe this movie deserves a score of 0.

  • 9

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:09:46 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Last Jedi was an amazing movie. No complaints.