Halifax Movies

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Score: 6.16 / 10

Release Date: July 21, 2017
Director: Christopher Nolan
Producer: Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Fionn Whitehead, Tom Glynn-Carney, Jack Lowden, Harry Styles, Aneurin Barnard, James D'Arcy, Barry Keoghan, Kenneth Branagh, Cillian Murphy, Mark Rylance, Tom Hardy
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 107 minutes

Write a Review


Dunkirk movie reviews

  • 7

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, August 5, 2017 6:34:29 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Dunkirk is a legendary story & I appreciated the way the movie was made to respect it. There were no news cameras there to record it, only the stories of the people who were there. It was the rescue of an army, made by the people of England in small boats across the English Channel. The English are truly amazing, aren't they? When something bad happens they refuse to show fear, they do what needs to be done. Those who criticize the film for jumping around should realize it is a true story of what was done by ordinary people with tremendous courage to save their soldiers. They never gave up, and I doubt they ever will.

  • 6

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, August 5, 2017 12:44:18 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Acting is good as well as the cinematography but I felt the 1958 Dunkirk showed a much better scope of what happen, including the beach scene which grasped what real film & photos took on those horrible days of retreating to Britain!

  • 5

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, August 5, 2017 12:24:46 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Perhaps i'm a bit foggy, but i would have liked to have known . that this was the EVACUATION" RE Dunkirk. Movie a bit stung out--I took a couple of breaks and upon return found I had not missed anything. not a terrible movie but needs a bit more meat on the bone.

  • 4

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, August 5, 2017 11:12:23 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Amazing cinematography but very loud and stressful to watch. I have heard the movie is accurate historically but, even with a History education, the story and strategy is hard to follow.

  • 4

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, August 5, 2017 1:26:00 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A very neat and tidy, let's tone-down-the-violence-of-war movie from Christopher Nolan. Here's a director who likes to cut from one of his land-sea-air story lines to another, but the cuts are too quick and you easily lose perspective. At times, the cuts are to scenes unrelated to one of his 3 themes, and you wonder...okay, where are we now? What boat/ship are we on? That's frustrating. Excellent cinematography, sadly offset by horribly grating soundtrack from Hans Zimmer. Nolan didn't want to show any Germans, and he doesn't, thinking that perspective from the British soldier's point of view would be compromised...instead, it becomes muddled, even lost. As a war movie, not a classic as the critics would have you believe, certainly not the same caliber as say Saving Private Ryan. I was really anticipating much better, found myself leaving disappointed. This one won't stand the test of time.

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Friday, August 4, 2017 9:57:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I thought the film was very well done and showed the true spirit of man kind

  • 1

    Dunkirk

    Friday, August 4, 2017 9:24:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    waste of time

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Friday, August 4, 2017 6:10:12 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A boring and badly done war movie. Ignoring the technical faults (see the MAGIC SPITFIRE GLIDE ITS WAY TO VICTORY!!!!) This is a movie about a group of guys hanging at the beach. They watch the tide. A plane drops a bomb. They watch the surf. Some drown on a boat. The movie is only about 20 minutes long, and they keep re-looping the same sequences from different perspectives. This is fun and different for all of 10 minutes. Then it get's tiresome. Then it get's truly annoying. Finally you are looking forward to a bathroom break, looking at your phone for the time, and looking around the theatre out of boredom. And I'm a Guy Who Loves War Movies.

  • 4

    Dunkirk

    Friday, August 4, 2017 2:31:23 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I was disappointed in the lack of historical data & scope of the movie. The length of the movie should've been 15-30 min longer with more story & details of the "little" boats & why the Germans failed to take advantage. I appreciated the effort to use more actual live explosions etc in scenes but I felt that the overall effort was a "chapter" in the Dunkirk "book" leaving me feeling like I was given the short version, ie "Dunkirk for Dummies" instead of the "novel" I was hoping for. Saw it with my brother out of town on regular screen & wouldn't care to pay to see it again on an IMAX venue that is available in my hometown.

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Friday, August 4, 2017 10:33:25 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was weak. How can a war movie be pg or pg13. No blood or gore. Real wars had this, it's a reality. Confusing not enough action just weak. Black hawk down, we were soldiers, enemy's at the gates, saving Private Ryan, tears of the sun, act of valor, etc. Those were good war movies dunkrik can't be mentioned in this list. Even mark whalberg's lone survivor killed this.