Halifax Movies

Blade Runner 2049

Blade Runner 2049

Blade Runner 2049

Score: 6.91 / 10

Release Date: October 6, 2017
Director: Denis Villeneuve
Producer: Andrew A. Kosove, Broderick Johnson, Bud Yorkin, Cynthia Yorkin
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Ryan Gosling, Harrison Ford, Ana de Armas, Sylvia Hoeks, Robin Wright, Mackenzie Davis, Carla Juri, Lennie James, Dave Bautista, Jared Leto, Barkhad Abdi
Rating: 14
Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
Running Time: 163 minutes

Write a Review


Blade Runner 2049 movie reviews

  • 8

    Blade Runner 2049

    Wednesday, October 11, 2017 9:55:44 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Although not Blade Runner 1982 style...as 2049 is far longer, slower and character driven, especially Gosling's character K...this one has its sensual sci-fi highlights. Especially during the last hour of the movie where it does become intense and we get to find out how the loose ends of the original come together at last. It could be cut down to two hours I think as some scenes took forever to get to the point and move on. However, it is visually intriguing and very atmospheric...just don't expect lots of action or superfluous special effects...but do expect to be entertained and at times, enthralled.

  • 10

    Blade Runner 2049

    Wednesday, October 11, 2017 5:08:01 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    An artistic masterpiece, a feast for the senses both visual and audio. The sets were top notch, the 'Peugeot' flying cop cars looked very functional and realistic. The acting was amazing, stellar performances turned in by nearly every main character, especially Gosling, Ford and Leto. My only criticisms, a VERY long movie, you begin to feel it about 2/3 through. The incredible immersiveness helps this, see it on IMAX! And the main villian, is nowhere near as good as the original baddie Replicant, Rutger Hauer, but those are pretty tall synthetic boots to fill!

  • 3

    Blade Runner 2049

    Wednesday, October 11, 2017 5:04:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I saw the first one when it first came out and I was awestruck, so I was excited about the new film. Overall, I found it long, confusing and average. Too many unanswered questions and there are plot issues. What worked in the first film was the idea of what is human. This theme is dominant in the second film but the theme is dished out heavy handedly. Gosling, to me wasn't the right fit and Ford was only so-so. The female antagonist was nasty and the male God character was silly and overblown. Too many unanswered questions. What were those buzzy things around the God guy? Why the bees? Where is Dekkard anyways and how was he able to live? What happened to the revolution? That's enough queries from me. Visually is was good but not as good as the first.

  • 9

    Blade Runner 2049

    Wednesday, October 11, 2017 2:14:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    They need to do sequel from this movie.

  • 9

    Blade Runner 2049

    Wednesday, October 11, 2017 1:18:48 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent movie! I wish more movies coming out of Hollywood were this well done.

  • 10

    Blade Runner 2049

    Wednesday, October 11, 2017 1:04:25 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Slowly enough for me to watch this movie because now they are making too much fast movie. This one was perfect. Like in the older days.

  • 9

    Blade Runner 2049

    Wednesday, October 11, 2017 12:45:16 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great movie.

  • 10

    Blade Runner 2049

    Wednesday, October 11, 2017 12:11:48 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Everything I hoped for! Not for the short attention span crowd save your money.

  • 9

    Blade Runner 2049

    Wednesday, October 11, 2017 11:53:59 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The movie could be shorter or less than two hours. Still I like both.

  • 8

    Blade Runner 2049

    Wednesday, October 11, 2017 11:37:35 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Impressive visual but it could have been edited down to 2 hrs. - too many drawn out scenes of K walking alone and too much overdone fight scenes. It did pick up the original story line but did not evoke empathy for the replicas like the original had. A very good effort from Villeneuve but if you didn't see the original much of it may be lost on you.