Halifax Movies

Murder on the Orient Express

Murder on the Orient Express

Murder on the Orient Express

Score: 7.08 / 10

Release Date: November 10, 2017
Director: Kenneth Branagh
Producer: Judy Hofflund, Kenneth Branagh, Mark Gordon, Michael Schaefer, Ridley Scott, Simon Kinberg
Studio: 20th Century Fox
Starring: Kenneth Branagh, Michelle Pfeiffer, Judi Dench, Johnny Depp, Derek Jacobi, Josh Gad, Penélope Cruz, Manuel Garcia-Rulfo, Olivia Colman, Willem Dafoe, Daisy Ridley, Leslie Odom Jr., Lucy Boynton, Sergei Polunin, Tom Bateman, Marwan Kenzari
Rating: PG
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 114 minutes

Write a Review


Murder on the Orient Express movie reviews

  • 4

    Murder on the Orient Express

    Sunday, November 12, 2017 3:56:50 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Dreadful remake filled with inaccuracies and inplausible newly invented action adventures. Overtly common visual allusions mediocre at best. Main question from our audience was “Who the hell was Katherine?” Must be Kenneth Branagh’s invention because if he ever had read Agatha Christie in his life he’d know that the only woman Poirot ever confessed to loving was the Countess Vera Rassnokoff. She was very much alive in the 30’s when this was supposed to take place. The rest of the cast and the Art Deco set, including the Lalique get the extra star. If you’ve never read the book or seen fabulous David Suchet in BBC’s most accurate and entertaining version, you’ll like this.

  • 6

    Murder on the Orient Express

    Sunday, November 12, 2017 2:52:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Too predictable and boring

  • 5

    Murder on the Orient Express

    Sunday, November 12, 2017 1:10:20 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Saw the original movie years ago. So I really looked forward to this updated version. Unfortunately I was somewhat disappointed. I thought the plot seemed awfully slow at times and the speech volume was often quite low, especially from our hero detective, Hercule Poirot, whose English had, of course, a distinct French accent. Not a bad movie by any stretch of the imagination; just had the feeling it just missed the mark. RAN

  • 9

    Murder on the Orient Express

    Sunday, November 12, 2017 12:34:55 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent movie ! Nice to see a movie rely on acting for a change. Try to guess who did it haha

  • 10

    Murder on the Orient Express

    Sunday, November 12, 2017 12:48:59 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I really enjoyed this movie. Loved the mystery of who done it until you find out near the end. You think you can figure it out but then you change your mind to someone else.....I miss these kind of movies. 10000% must see!!!!

  • 9

    Murder on the Orient Express

    Saturday, November 11, 2017 11:46:33 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The best movie in a long time.

  • 9

    Murder on the Orient Express

    Saturday, November 11, 2017 10:20:47 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very much enjoyed this rich makeover of the 70s classic. Graphics and period photography immerses the viewer. The plot is complex and leaves you guessing “who donit” till the very end. The actors involved do an excellent job from the routine roles they typically play. The ending worth waiting for. Highly recommend it and look forward to “The Nile”

  • 9

    Murder on the Orient Express

    Saturday, November 11, 2017 8:48:35 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Enjoyed seeing Penelope Cruz back on the big screen. This movie had me at the edge of my seat the whole time!!!!! Penelope Cruz was Awesome!!!!!

  • 9

    Murder on the Orient Express

    Saturday, November 11, 2017 12:57:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is amazing, Duane The Rock Johnson isn't in this movie!

  • 6

    Murder on the Orient Express

    Saturday, November 11, 2017 1:06:40 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Hmmm...a bit slow moving