Dartmouth Movies

The Man Who Invented Christmas

The Man Who Invented Christmas

The Man Who Invented Christmas

Score: 6 / 10

Director: Bharat Nalluri
Producer: Niv Fichman, Susan Mullen
Studio: Elevation Pictures
Starring: Dan Stevens, Christopher Plummer, Jonathan Pryce, Miriam Margolyes, Simon Callow, Justin Edwards
Rating: PG
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 104 minutes

Write a Review


The Man Who Invented Christmas movie reviews

  • 10

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Sunday, November 26, 2017 2:38:30 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great movie! Well developed characters. Excellent script. Incredible acting by all but especially by Dan Stevens ( Charles Dickens ) and Christopher Plummer ( Scrooge ) . Well worth seeing this movie. However, it might be best if you have an idea of the story behind the story before watching The Man Who Invented Christmas. My suggestion is to either read the book or watch the movie " A Christmas Carol " first if you are not familiar with this story. Having a knowledge of " A Christmas Carol " will bring the current movie to life for you.

  • 1

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Sunday, November 26, 2017 1:56:26 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    If I was 80 I'd love this movie

  • 10

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Saturday, November 25, 2017 11:49:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Please donít let the trolls skew your view of this movie. My wife and I just watched it and found it to be very enjoyable. It was a very unique and enjoyable way to tell such a familiar story.

  • 9

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Saturday, November 25, 2017 7:38:51 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Awesome movie. Sure to be a classic

  • 2

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Saturday, November 25, 2017 2:05:18 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    So this was about Scrooge?

  • 7

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Saturday, November 25, 2017 3:29:15 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Wonderful movie. A little high brow for the super hero set. Variety is the spice of life mr 1 star. Did you actually go to see this movie expecting to see babes? Like I said too high brow for you. Christopher Plummer was awesome.

  • 2

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Friday, November 24, 2017 10:32:33 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    They should rename this the movie that ruined Xmas. Not hot babes like gal gadot

  • 10

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Thursday, November 23, 2017 10:25:17 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    FANTASTIC MOVIE

  • 10

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Tuesday, November 21, 2017 10:25:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    If you loved "A Christmas Carol" as I did you will absolutely adore this movie. It gives us glimpses into Charles Dicken's life as well as shows us how the story was created and the genius behind it. We can all use the messages given to us for the season . A movie to treasure. And just in time for the holidays.

  • 10

    The Man Who Invented Christmas

    Tuesday, November 21, 2017 10:18:43 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I had been looking forward to seeing this movie as I am a fan of Charles Dicken's novels. It did not fail to deliver. A superb gem of a movie wondrously blending a time-portrait of the author's life (including flashbacks to his childhood) all in tandem with the magical creation of "A Christmas Carol" before our very eyes. Dan Stevens (from Downton Abbey) does a remarkably superb job playing Dickens as does Christopher Plummer playing Scrooge. I absolutely loved all of it. And it came out just in time for Christmas, just like Dickens succeeded in accomplishing back in 1843. A must-see , a movie that can definitely be classified as a keeper.