Dartmouth Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.67 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:56:07 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The writing is very poor, plot holes all over the place, pointless characters (Rose)... in one movie Rian Johnson and Kathleen Kennedy managed to destroy everything good about Star Wars. The treatment of Luke’s character is so poor, so lazily put together, so incoherent, so blatantly disrepectful of the original trilogy... What boggles the mind is how nobody (apart from Mark Hamill, bless his heart) tried to course correct this absolute insult of a movie. This isn’t bad because people “refuse to accept change” or “didn’t get what they wanted” or “have a problem with strong female characters”... this is bad because the writing is absolutely brain-dead.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:52:26 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    It's an atrocity. Please remake this before you do episode 9. Disney has destroyed lives with this. I say boycott Disney all across the globe. Amusement parks, movies and toys. This was heresy!!

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:49:17 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I feel so bad for today's kids. I grew up on the original Star Wars trilogy, which clearly laid out how love, calm, and self sacrifice = the Light side of the Force, and hatred, anger, selfishness = the Dark Side. It was clear cut, and helped guide my moral compass growing up almost as much as anything. Luke emobodied these ideals and struggled with the darkness and the light through his 3 movie arc before solidifying himself as the greatest hero in the history of movie-dom by saving his father and the galaxy. And now we have TLJ, where Disney throws everything we hold dear out the window. Luke is destroyed and treated lower than dirt. The Force and how it works is destroyed. The rebellion is destroyed. Everything the rebellion worked for in the original trilogy is destroyed. The beloved Admiral Ackbar is unceremoniously flushed in favor of a new purple haired character nobody cares about or will remember. And the main character Rey, who I am supposed to be rooting for, is essentially a Sith in the employ of the Resistance with her rampant use of untamed dark side power. Don't worry though, the porgs and horse-dogs are saved! yay! Long live Supreme Leader Ren and the victorious First Order! This film leaves people with ZERO anticipation for episode 9. Are 30 people (the entirety of the Resistance now fits in the Falcon) going to defeat a galactic Empire of billions? Who will lead the Resistance since we know Leia is dead IRL? Will they pull some other random pink haired lady from the back or do we need to wait 10 years for broom boy? Will Kylo finally turn good after slaughtering the entire galaxy or will Rey defeat him? Who cares. I'm out. See you later Disney. I'm going to go hug my pre-special edition VCR tapes of the original trilogy and cry.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:44:05 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    One of the worst movies I have ever seen... I’m a huge Star Wars fan and Rogue One was a fantastic movie... the plot, the acting, the dialogue for this movie were some of the worst I’ve ever seen. Sure the cinematography was par for the course along with the cgi effects but that can’t make up for the shortcomings of a terrible story with horrendous pointless subplots

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:41:28 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Basically, this is the worst film I have seen in my life. I want my 2.5hours back. I do not regard it as a Star-Wars film, as it contains nothing that made the other films enjoyable. In my opinion, it is merely a trashy Sci-Fantasy film filled top to bottom with self inconsistencies and bad comic relief.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:31:43 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Awful, awful film, how on earth the script passed any semblance of checking is beyond belief and the shameless buying of critics, to give glowing reviews is shocking. Rian Johnson has completely destroyed a franchise, which I suspect was his intention, certainly won't be watching any further Disney star wars films. Shameful.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:31:16 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Feminist propaganda. Every male hero is depicted as ''lucky''/goofy, every female hero is a strong female character, every male villain is psychotic , the only female villain is a strong female character.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:30:56 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I am not into movies, but SW was always a different beast for me...it was and is not anymore. I have seen them all and I loved them all, but what happened to the last jedi left me speechless. So many users pointed out all of the bad decisions and plotholes. It is true. All of it! Going out to call THIS crap the best SW movie of all time is a pure marketing lie. It´s a trap. You know it. It´s ok to watch this movie in theatres once, as long as you won´t make the same mistake twice...I just watched it one time, and this is a novum for me. Please rewrite and reshoot this movie. pffft mary poppins leia boy I thought I had a bad dream.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:30:15 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie left me empty. It was way too much like Empire Strikes Back, but in such a bad way because it was so disconnected and implausible. So many lines said by characters made no sense...a disconnected senseless movie. I have never watched a movie and thought, what are they doing, why did they say that? And if the director could please tell me how bombs fall in the near vacuum of space? They really need to teach more science in schools. How about no bombs at all. I thought Star Wars was about laser beams and light sabers. I could go on, but why bother, let's just join the critics, clap our hands, and drool at all the fancy cinematography. Note, I am an old Star Wars fan, but have no desire to watch any more new movies. Excuse me, I need to leave and attempt to empty my memory of this ridiculous movie.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:28:08 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I'm an avid Star Wars fan. I enjoyed The Force Awakens. The Last Jedi, I did not enjoy at all. It was weird, the audience had a good cheer at the opening crawl. Then when the movie ended it was silent. No applause, nothing. I think people left the theater feeling cheated and empty. Some people even laughed at the Leia/Superman scene. I just cringed deeper into my seat. Are we really left with the villains being Kylo and Hux? They aren't even menacing. They are just hollow characters. I just don't feel like this was a good story. I'm not looking forward to the next of Star Wars film, and that is a weird feeling for me to have.