Dartmouth Movies

Lady Bird

Lady Bird

Lady Bird

Score: 6.71 / 10

Release Date: November 10, 2017
Director: Greta Gerwig
Producer: Eli Bush, Evelyn O'Neill, Scott Rudin
Studio: Elevation Pictures
Starring: Saoirse Ronan, Laurie Metcalf, Tracy Letts, Lucas Hedges, Timothée Chalamet, Beanie Feldstein, Stephen McKinley Henderson, Lois Smith
Rating: 14A
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 94 minutes

Write a Review


Lady Bird movie reviews

  • 4

    Lady Bird

    Friday, December 1, 2017 11:27:16 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    If you can manage to get your hands on a copy of New Waterford Girl (1999), you will see a much funnier and more engaging film with virtually the same plot of a young girl trying to escape her circumstances. Lady Bird is a much less likeable protagonist than the very sympathetic Moonie Pottie as the New Waterford Girl.

  • 3

    Lady Bird

    Friday, December 1, 2017 10:41:46 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Well made and well acted. Unfortunately, the film has no real plot, and no real plot resolution, which (of course) equates to an unremarkable story. The central character "Lady Bird" is a self-absorbed dullard who wishes to attend school in the northeast United States instead of in Sacramento, CA. She's willing to remorselessly pursue this "dream" at the financial sacrament of her struggling family. She's dishonest and self-serving, and treats her friends and family poorly. She becomes more aware of her selfish flaws by the end of the picture, but doesn't seem to change in any profound sense. She simply drinks too much one evening, then decides to abandon her self-given nickname of "Lady Bird," opting in favor of her actual name. (whup-dee-doo!) There are some very good performances from supporting characters in the film, and one wishes Lady Bird were more engaged with these characters, rather than her situation as a catalyst in her own character development. (What a strange choice to make by the writer of this tale!) I'm not really clear as to why so many critics have gushed over this movie. Immaturity?

  • 4

    Lady Bird

    Thursday, November 30, 2017 3:56:19 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A few laughs, but a lot of depression. The mother works in mental health and yet is mentally abusive. So many parts actually led to more questions that were never answered. Very poor flow and unrealistic likelihood of happening in real life.

  • 2

    Lady Bird

    Thursday, November 30, 2017 12:33:50 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    As interesting as watching paint dry. The kind of movie critics can't praise enough and the regular movie goer rightly ignores. Artsy fartsy? A must see! Regular folk? Be busy that day.

  • 9

    Lady Bird

    Monday, November 27, 2017 4:57:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Absolute best movie I have seen in years. A perfect portrayal of what it feels like to be a young woman of 17/18. A film everyone should see.

  • 7

    Lady Bird

    Friday, November 24, 2017 1:54:04 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Nice coming of age film. A nice portrayal of the mother-daughter dynamic. Those poor at mothering are often the product of poor mothering. I didn't LOVE it.......77/100....guru bob

  • 8

    Lady Bird

    Thursday, November 23, 2017 10:31:41 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I found this to be a quirky but enjoyable little film ,kind of like Napolean Dynamite .It had a good share of chuckles and Saoirse Ronan was awesome as usual.

  • 8

    Lady Bird

    Thursday, November 23, 2017 8:16:28 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I've loved Soirse Ronin since Oscar-nominated turn in ATONEMENT (2007). She was nominated again, at 22, for BROOKLYN, in which she played her age. Now, at 24, she couldn't be more convincing as an angst-ridden teenager in Greta Gerwig's directorial debut. Credit to the makeup artist who made her look acne-plagued with her pink hair. Tracy Letts, the renowned playwright, is a revelation as an actor, playing Lady Bird's patient father. And Laurie Metcalf appears destined to earn her first Oscar nod as the long-suffering mother. Elsewhere, the cast is superb and the screenplay--by Gerwig--is almost painfully realistic without a sappy happy ending. Despite its R rating, I'd say it's a good movie for the family this holiday weekend.

  • 9

    Lady Bird

    Wednesday, November 22, 2017 2:11:07 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Love Laurie Metcalf. Excellent.

  • 1

    Lady Bird

    Wednesday, November 22, 2017 12:18:44 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I went cuz all the other movies are for kids. I wouldn't waste my money on this film. Not interesting. I would have walked out but couldn't get past 2 people next to me.