Dartmouth Movies

Roman J. Israel, Esq.

Roman J. Israel, Esq.

Roman J. Israel, Esq.

Score: 6.81 / 10

Director: Dan Gilroy
Producer: Denzel Washington, Jennifer Fox, Todd Black
Studio: Columbia Pictures
Starring: Denzel Washington, Colin Farrell, Carmen Ejogo
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 129 minutes

Write a Review


Roman J. Israel, Esq. movie reviews

  • 9

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Thursday, February 15, 2018 8:50:56 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I do not think Mr. Denzel Washington's performance is underrated because he is black. Denzel is an excellent actor. I am sure he is well respected and he draws patrons of all races in to the theater, because he appeals to all people. I try to see all of his movies on the big screen. Denzel's acting ability is versatile in my opinion. Mr. Washington is a role model, being a successful black man, a loving husband, and a successful actor, director and producer. And he is a genuinely nice human being, basing this on all I have read, and observed on TV and in person once. I wrote the review on November 25, 2017, beginning with: I waited a few days before writing this review. For me, it could have been that the writing for that character role and or the performance based on the writing for that role did not add up or strayed off course. Coupled with I know a thing or two about the topics the character depicted, which did not add up. The end of the movie was sad but also powerful. And I like the review posted on February 7, 2018, because the rater's perspective on what the movie was about is insightful. I am giving 5 stars today because it is Black History Month and Mr. Denzel Washington is an excellent Black History Month Role Model, and an excellent actor.

  • 9

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Wednesday, February 7, 2018 4:28:49 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is not just a Black History Month story, or a story about Civil Rights, or the people portrayed (based I assume on a composite, or actual historical persons). It's a morality tale about Selling Out vs. doing the right thing, most pertinent to our times right now. There are many subtleties in the script and acting that were, I guess, not perceived by most of the reviewers. I wanted to watch it again, buy the DVD to watch it many times, right after leaving the theater. Denzel Washington's performance is also, maybe because he's black, underrated.

  • 9

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Saturday, December 30, 2017 1:23:02 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Its just a little over a month since the movie came out. l was gonna take my mom to see it today but it isnít playing anywhere in the state of Michigan. WTF!!! l donít go by others bad reviews of any movie. People loved Justice League, Thor Ragnarock and the new Star Wars movies, l thought they all were subpar. Why did this movie vanish?

  • 3

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Wednesday, December 13, 2017 12:46:13 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was boring right from the get go, I left 3/4 through the movie, hoping it would get better but it didn't . Two stars is being generous .

  • 3

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Tuesday, December 5, 2017 9:57:24 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Washington and Farrell are great, that's it!

  • 1

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Friday, December 1, 2017 10:07:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This was a terrible movie, no plot ,no stortline And Denzel Washington acted badly,ireally don't see all those 5 stars.When you go to see a movie starring Denzel you expect to see a good movie .That was not the case here.

  • 8

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Sunday, November 26, 2017 5:10:08 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Denzel excellent and divers actor .We enjoyed the movie from start to end. Recommended highly

  • 9

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Sunday, November 26, 2017 3:14:17 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    While the plot was not the best, the characters were great!

  • 10

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Sunday, November 26, 2017 3:12:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Movie was great. They had Denzel looking cray but I enjoyed it. Great cast and terrific acting.

  • 7

    Roman J. Israel, Esq.

    Saturday, November 25, 2017 10:28:30 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Cont. from below: I have no regret paying to see the movie in the theater. What I am saying is this: If Israel is a savant, then stay on this message throughout the movie. If Israel is a complicated or conflicted person, let us see this. If Israel is merely awkward, then stay on this message throughout the movie. If Israel was awkward until experiencing the death of a close colleague plus experiencing the changes at the law firm all of which caused Israel to become bitter (an argument for why he did what he did), then nurture this message throughout the movie. I did not feel ebb and flow watching this movie.