Dartmouth Movies

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Score: 7.22 / 10

Director: Martin McDonagh
Producer: Graham Broadbent, Martin McDonagh, Peter Czernin
Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures
Starring: Frances McDormand, Woody Harrelson, Sam Rockwell, John Hawkes, Peter Dinklage, Abbie Cornish, Lucas Hedges, Zeljko Ivanek, Caleb Landry Jones, Clarke Peters, Samara Weaving, Nick Searcy
Rating: 14A
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 115 minutes

Write a Review


Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri movie reviews

  • 9

    Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

    Wednesday, December 6, 2017 10:25:56 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    It sucks you in, holds you there, then forcefully spits you out.... great pacing, exceptional acting. People are as cruel as depicted here, you just may not know many of them.

  • 4

    Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

    Tuesday, December 5, 2017 12:41:48 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I concur with the last reviewer here, particularly about their comments on the movie and that it was not a good movie at all. The reference point of creating a review is in fact the movie (to say it's " just a movie" with the assumption that a person should loosen their opinion , by someone who attacks another individual's review, is short-sighted, and sadly reflective of an inability to grasp with their own convictions, in that they strive for popular consensus by attacking the reviews of others who are rightfully able to review a movie)Defensiveness for one owns opinion is grossly representative of self absorption, while defending another's opinion on ethically sound principles is reflective of the heroic qualities that this movie lacks. Now then since that is out of the way, the 'Just a Movie" here that offers reflection is that the semblance of popular opinion amongst a brash view is not heroic from an ethical standpoint. If ethics matters to someone they can rightfully attest to this, equally if ethics does not matter to somebody they can equally attest to their opinion. Its not a matter of right or wrong, but if we look closely all the opinions here are based on the approximation of ethical reference that the writers of opinion or reviews have for themselves. Simply put, I rather hated the movie, thought it was rubbish, but suspect that I have offended some readers who might want to convince me otherwise, that is the mystery we should ask ourselves and uncover to see the whole picture (no pun intended).

  • Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

    Monday, December 4, 2017 10:39:33 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    To the person who was at TIFF to see this movie. I am the person who wrote the 3 star review that wasn't very complementary to the movie. But remember, I did give it 3 stars overall because it did have its moments of greatness. First of all this is a forum for people to give their own honest opinion about a movie and NOT a place to complain about or criticize another persons opinion. 5 stars and Oscars as some people like you say? Maybe, and maybe not. Time will tell won't it. Ok everybody at TIFF clapped. So what? People in crowds behave as the crowd does, ie; clapping, so as to appear to fit in and not be the only one who is not clapping, and often doing so whether or not they actually feel as though clapping is really deserved. Btw, nobody clapped in the theater I was in (or laughed much either). Additionally I simply said F McD's character was so over the top angry that it bordered on evil, as did some of the others, and that they weren't the types I cared to be watching or those whom I could like either, and believe me I tried hard to cut her some slack because of what happened to her daughter, but she went to the dark side so bad, she just lost me. As far as realism goes, yes it is just a movie (thanks for pointing that out btw lol), but as a career firefighter (who has also been around death and destruction too many times), the scene with the fire extinguisher was just totally ridiculous...for more than a few good reasons. Just as ridiculous was the fact that out of the other heinous crimes committed during the movie...nobody went to jail. I mean come on. Yes it was "just a movie" but apparently unlike you, I demand a bit more out of what I pay to watch, especially with the talent in this movie. So I think it could have been easily written a bit better so as to not have been so over the top outrageous as it was more than a few times. Therefore, I predict this movie will have a short theater life and not be remembered long term as all that great of a movie b

  • 10

    Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

    Sunday, December 3, 2017 7:40:18 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Loved it loved it loved it go see it :)

  • 9

    Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

    Sunday, December 3, 2017 7:38:12 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I was the premier of this movie at TIFF with a 1000 other people & the director present. Every single person in that theatre was clapping. From start to finish, it was entertaining. I rarely write reviews but for those saying it was unrealistic and vulgar and violent, ummmm first of all itís a freakin movie and second of all, the mother is grieving and seeking answers for her daughter who was raped and murdered! Put yourself in her shoes! Of course she was angry and hostile but it comes from a place which you would NOT understand unless you lost a child. Even though the topic at hand is very serious, the movie has amazing dark humour and raw emotional moments. I recommend everyone watching this movie and judging it for their own selves despite the negative reviews.

  • 10

    Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

    Sunday, December 3, 2017 9:56:08 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent movie...held my interest throughout...great acting and wonít be surprised if the 3 main characters garner Oscar nominations....McDormandís best role since Fargo and was pleasantly surprised by Rockwell. I thought Harrelson was better here than in LBJ. Itís a thought provoking movie but not for everyone. I can understand why many people would be turned off by the language and violence, but I thought it fit the story and characters and wasnít gratuitous. Not your usual film where things are resolved either positively or negatively. Ending for me was a little reminiscent of No Country For Old Men.

  • 7

    Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

    Friday, December 1, 2017 10:07:23 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Good movie. Dark, quirky and comedic. I thought the actors did a good job. Just when you think things are over, they aren't.

  • 4

    Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

    Friday, December 1, 2017 11:34:01 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is the opposite of a feel good movie. It is a feel bad movie. See it if you want to end up with a bad taste in your mouth about the state of humanity. The only redeeming character in the movie is played by Woody Harrelson and even he comes to a bad end.

  • 8

    Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

    Thursday, November 30, 2017 9:08:22 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A thought provoking movie that was both funny and serious.I was definitely entertained which hasn't happened with many of the recently released big budget movies.

  • 1

    Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

    Wednesday, November 29, 2017 12:58:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    could never recommend this movie, very depressing