Dartmouth Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.71 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Rating: PG
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 9

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:08:54 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Fantastic adventure. Great scenes and a good background story.

  • 9

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:08:10 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    We like this movie and we did not know Disney own Star Wars.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:06:31 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The only good thing about this movie is that Episode I is no longer the worst one. I liked some stuff from Episode VII and I expected to see a good film, but Disney definitely ruined Star Wars with this one. I can't believe it's a 2:30 hours movie, I wanted to leave the theatre so badly... I guess it's a movie for children now, they probably enjoy the action, the awful gags and the FXs.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:05:21 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Last Jedi is an awful Star Wars movie. It's boring, has too many forced jokes, ignores plot lines set up in The Force Awakens, and disrespects all the films before it.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:05:18 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The most offensive, disgraceful film I've ever seen. Utterly unforgivable. This is a giant FU to SW fans, make no mistake. This is a student grade political tirade, hijacking the biggest franchise in film. I'm astonished and speechless. Disney need to be brought down for this.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:05:12 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Superb visuals with no soul, will not watch it again. It is sad to see this might be end of the star wars legacy, for some old fans at least. I guess it suits the taste of newer generations anyway.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 8:49:53 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Terrible! The movie was disconnected mush - painfully lurching between consumer product placement and future theme park rides. A few sad motivational speeches mixed in. Plot, etc, if any, was laughable. The cinematography was often beautiful, but the end result was garbage: as ridiculous as Space Balls -- just not as funny. I feel bad for all the artists, designers, etc who all must have worked hard on this. Anyway, I'm not an obsessive Star Wars fan, but as a 41 yo, I grew up with these movies. I think this franchise is done for me. Very sad.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 8:44:54 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Rian Johnson said he didn’t make this movie ‘to give the fans what they wanted to see’ and Mark Hamill said when he read the script he was “insulted”. So should we be surprised that this movie has gotten so poorly rated by fans? Because of the innumerable plot holes and invalidating 40 years of Star Wars history this movie is beyond bad. Surprising the audience is one thing but this is just denigrating history.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 8:40:00 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I preferred the pacing over TFA. To some extent.TFA was action every couple lines of dialogue. "Yeah I knew Luke." Aaannd aaaction. Rathtar scene, oh my god! The film within the film subplot with Finn and Rose on Canto Bright is dreadful. It slows the whole film down and makes it too long. The Force connection communication Betwen Rey and Kylo Ren is straight out of Twilight. It's not Star Wars. The Leia 'space' moment and she's out for the count for most of the film. Admiral Ackbar Captain Phasma Why did Yoda use the persona (Hmm laugh) he used to test Luke when they first met? That persona was an act. Luke is Luke at the end but it's too late. Wasted and if what happens to him even needed at all? Now that would be different to keep him around. Gandalf him back.I agree it's not what many Star Wars fans wanted or expected. There are so many things wrong with this film that I cannot give it a pass.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 8:40:00 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I preferred the pacing over TFA. To some extent.TFA was action every couple lines of dialogue. "Yeah I knew Luke." Aaannd aaaction. Rathtar scene, oh my god! The film within the film subplot with Finn and Rose on Canto Bright is dreadful. It slows the whole film down and makes it too long. The Force connection communication Betwen Rey and Kylo Ren is straight out of Twilight. It's not Star Wars. The Leia 'space' moment and she's out for the count for most of the film. Admiral Ackbar Captain Phasma Why did Yoda use the persona (Hmm laugh) he used to test Luke when they first met? That persona was an act. Luke is Luke at the end but it's too late. Wasted and if what happens to him even needed at all? Now that would be different to keep him around. Gandalf him back.I agree it's not what many Star Wars fans wanted or expected. There are so many things wrong with this film that I cannot give it a pass.