Dartmouth Movies

Red Sparrow

Red Sparrow

Red Sparrow

Score: 6.52 / 10

Release Date: March 2, 2018
Director: Francis Lawrence
Producer: David Ready, Jenno Topping, Peter Chernin, Steven Zaillian
Studio: 20th Century Fox
Starring: Jennifer Lawrence, Joel Edgerton, Matthias Schoenaerts, Charlotte Rampling, Mary-Louise Parker, Jeremy Irons
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 139 minutes

Write a Review


Red Sparrow movie reviews

  • 10

    Red Sparrow

    Sunday, April 29, 2018 9:07:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The sordid story line is what sets up the plot with plenty of twists and turns culminating in a fantastic ending. The acting was good all around with Jenifer as the lead and rightly stealing the show. never felt the show was to long because the movie kept me guessing till the end. There was no excessive or prolonged nude scenes. The portrayals of the characters where well within normal range. All you anti nudity and anti violence nay Sayers should just stick to reading Archie comics or go back to the planet Algeron .

  • 9

    Red Sparrow

    Friday, April 27, 2018 12:14:38 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    An outstanding adaptation of a book I've actually read (probably puts me in the one percentile of movie reviewers here), brilliant work by the screenwriters at converting such a complex, multi-faceted story into a cinematic experience. Yep, there is the typical batch of puritan and feminist nut-jobs rating this movie 1-star because they either don't like any kind of nudity for any reason (perhaps stay home) or think any story that shows rape somehow glorifies it (get a brain please - it is a STORY!!). For those normal people out there who are interested in a realistic portrayal of real-world espionage and counter-espionage ... this is an awesome depiction. For the remaining minority of weirdos ... I think there is probably a new Disney film out soon :)

  • 2

    Red Sparrow

    Thursday, April 19, 2018 1:15:01 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Donít see this movie. Honestly, youíre better than that. Donít be the kind of person who enjoys seeing women raped.

  • 2

    Red Sparrow

    Sunday, April 8, 2018 8:13:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    We were pretty certain from the previews we might like the spy and suspense elements. So glad to see these reviews alerting us to the sicko content that emphasized rape and sex scenes. Won't go see it

  • 2

    Red Sparrow

    Sunday, April 8, 2018 5:38:43 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    That sucked the basically took women and turned them in to whoreís and spies what crap

  • 2

    Red Sparrow

    Saturday, April 7, 2018 7:36:08 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    JLaw I thought once you win an Oscar you don't have to prostitute yourself out to the public to get a platform...why oh why is a woman being raped entertainment? Huh? Very surprised you went for a typical Hollywood sexist female stereotyped role...Guess she didn't join the "Time's Up: Hollywood Women's Group....We're kinda of done with your poobs hanging out about now....

  • Red Sparrow

    Wednesday, March 28, 2018 6:09:18 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Jessica Alba or Anne Hathaway would have hit this one out of the park...

  • 2

    Red Sparrow

    Wednesday, March 28, 2018 4:51:47 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    One star for showing up...stupid story line jennifer Lawrence did not need to make this movie

  • 7

    Red Sparrow

    Sunday, March 25, 2018 3:09:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent story line and acting.

  • 9

    Red Sparrow

    Saturday, March 24, 2018 7:20:21 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I love jlaws " acting"