Dartmouth Movies

Lady Bird

Lady Bird

Lady Bird

Score: 6.79 / 10

Release Date: November 10, 2017
Director: Greta Gerwig
Producer: Eli Bush, Evelyn O'Neill, Scott Rudin
Studio: Elevation Pictures
Starring: Saoirse Ronan, Laurie Metcalf, Tracy Letts, Lucas Hedges, Timothée Chalamet, Beanie Feldstein, Stephen McKinley Henderson, Lois Smith
Rating: 14A
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 94 minutes

Write a Review


Lady Bird movie reviews

  • 4

    Lady Bird

    Thursday, November 30, 2017 3:56:19 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A few laughs, but a lot of depression. The mother works in mental health and yet is mentally abusive. So many parts actually led to more questions that were never answered. Very poor flow and unrealistic likelihood of happening in real life.

  • 2

    Lady Bird

    Thursday, November 30, 2017 12:33:50 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    As interesting as watching paint dry. The kind of movie critics can't praise enough and the regular movie goer rightly ignores. Artsy fartsy? A must see! Regular folk? Be busy that day.

  • 9

    Lady Bird

    Monday, November 27, 2017 4:57:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Absolute best movie I have seen in years. A perfect portrayal of what it feels like to be a young woman of 17/18. A film everyone should see.

  • 7

    Lady Bird

    Friday, November 24, 2017 1:54:04 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Nice coming of age film. A nice portrayal of the mother-daughter dynamic. Those poor at mothering are often the product of poor mothering. I didn't LOVE it.......77/100....guru bob

  • 8

    Lady Bird

    Thursday, November 23, 2017 10:31:41 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I found this to be a quirky but enjoyable little film ,kind of like Napolean Dynamite .It had a good share of chuckles and Saoirse Ronan was awesome as usual.

  • 8

    Lady Bird

    Thursday, November 23, 2017 8:16:28 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I've loved Soirse Ronin since Oscar-nominated turn in ATONEMENT (2007). She was nominated again, at 22, for BROOKLYN, in which she played her age. Now, at 24, she couldn't be more convincing as an angst-ridden teenager in Greta Gerwig's directorial debut. Credit to the makeup artist who made her look acne-plagued with her pink hair. Tracy Letts, the renowned playwright, is a revelation as an actor, playing Lady Bird's patient father. And Laurie Metcalf appears destined to earn her first Oscar nod as the long-suffering mother. Elsewhere, the cast is superb and the screenplay--by Gerwig--is almost painfully realistic without a sappy happy ending. Despite its R rating, I'd say it's a good movie for the family this holiday weekend.

  • 9

    Lady Bird

    Wednesday, November 22, 2017 2:11:07 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Love Laurie Metcalf. Excellent.

  • 1

    Lady Bird

    Wednesday, November 22, 2017 12:18:44 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I went cuz all the other movies are for kids. I wouldn't waste my money on this film. Not interesting. I would have walked out but couldn't get past 2 people next to me.

  • 9

    Lady Bird

    Monday, November 13, 2017 5:48:29 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Best movie I've seen all year. Fabulous characters and superb acting. A must see!