Dartmouth Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.71 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Rating: PG
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:18:49 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The guy who directed this thing killed the whole Star Wars saga in one movie. And it doesn't seems lack of warning, since Hamill himself tried to tell the director he might be in (completely) wrong way. At least I will save my money never buying Star Wars products again.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:15:35 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    My only hope now is that all of EPISODE H8 was a comatose Finnís fever dream. How kickass would that be? LOL. Biggest punking in cinema history. Yes, I hated EPISODE H8 with a burning passion. Left the cinema extremely bummed. Saw it twice, just to be sure. Hated it more the second time. Peace out, franchise!

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:15:32 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Boring SJW festival. Terrible writing and no logic. Boring heroes and villains. Was disappointing. Will not watch episode 9 or give any money to Disney whatsoever

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:13:30 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie was massacred by the director's poor writing skills. Not to say that the film wasn't visually stunning, but what it had in visuals it lacked in plot and logic. The film is filled with inconsistent plot points and a completely illogical storyline. This is certainly NOT a true Star Wars film in my opinion. The Director/Writer and Disney completely miss the mark here. This is the last Star Wars film I will be seeing.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:12:27 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away there was story that inspired and brought a sense of wonder to a generation of people. A modern myth was created and was passed down to new generations of fans who were also inspired by and moved by its story of heroism, self-sacrifice, and friendship. Was it perfect? No, but even with it's flaws it still captured the hearts of millions. What happened? I sat in the theater with my children hoping that they would be inspired by the same magic that inspired me when I first saw Star Wars many years ago. What we got was a bleak, lifeless and hollow tale. Did it look good? Sure. It was visually appealing but the beautiful imagery masked a hollow plot filled with empty and uninspiring characters who did pointless things for illogical reasons. It was a meandering tale that seemed to exist in a space of it's own, never building on what came before. "Let the past die" was the battle-cry of this shallow movie masquerading as a Star Wars tale and that is what it accomplished. But what the writer and director of this movie failed to realize is that great things are built on the shoulders of giants. Epic stories build on what comes before. In subverting all of the themes, plots and characters that preceded The Last Jedi, the creators pulled the rug out from Star Wars itself. That, more than anything else, describes how I felt at the closing credits. The deconstruction of Star Wars in The Last Jedi was so complete that there is nowhere to go now. To quote a far greater writer who looked on the bleakness and nihilism of the modern age and despaired: "This is the way the world ends. This is the way the world ends. This is the way the world ends. Not with a bang but a whimper."

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:10:56 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    If this is what stimulates the new generation - god help us. The only thing that could save this franchise now is for Sheev to come back and lay waste to the entire galaxy with force lightening, put this fanatical sick disney mouse to rest, and let the midichlorians of the galaxy create life anew (apparently this is now possible as Yoda demonstrates in this abomination of film by setting fire to things). That or perhaps let Marcia Lucas edit another Star Wars film, but even then she could probably not do much with the content being created under Kathleen Kennedy.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:10:49 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Shameful, absolutely shameful. I have never felt compelled to leave a movie review, much less on a Star Wars movie. I pains me to do this but Rian Johnson and Disney must be held accountable for this sick, insulting, offensive abomination. I award you no points and may God have mercy on your soul.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:10:45 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Last Jedi singlehandedly ruined the original Star Wars trilogy with its disservice toward the characters, story/lore, etc. of the original trilogy. The Last Jedi is trash.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:08:17 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very disappointing. Bad writing, poor character development and misrepresentation of characters. Awful continuity with its predecessor. Not a lot to look forward to in episode IX.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:06:22 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    To say this movie was a disappointment is a great understatement. My disappointment is not based on any "betrayal" of what Star Wars is or is "supposed to be"; any real story teller and artist ought to be able to explore their imagination and give a new interpretation or spin on things. My disappointment is in the fact that this film is quite simply a poorly made film. It lacks almost any sense of narrative integrity- cause and effect relationships are overlooked in favor of action sequences, that while visually beautiful, have absolutely no sense of gravitas. Basic concepts such as the connection of motivation and action have no place in this film. In the end it feels like only so much fluff and dazzle. I can accept one, two or even three jumps in logic or plot holes, but this film takes it to a new level. The narrative collapses repeatedly. To find myself not caring at all about what happens to characters that I have loved since childhood only underlines the truly monumental lack of care and haphazard way this film was made. I cannot imagine a great film maker such as Spielberg or even Peter Jackson making something as poorly constructed as The Last Jedi. I am sad to say I won't be watching another film directed by Johnson. I am baffled by the critics who have praised his work- and can only think that they only hold this film to the standards that they would hold a commercial or a shoddily written Saturday morning cartoon. To me the worst Star Wars film ever made and enough to evaporate any interest in following the franchise any further. It feels like a great loss- but it's Disney's right to do whatever they want. I just don't have to follow.