Dartmouth Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.72 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Rating: PG
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 5:18:01 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    There are so many many problems with this movie, and these problems are well vetted by other users, so no need to rehash. But there are legitimate reasons to hate this movie well beyond the blindly dismissive buzzwords like "toxic masculinity" and "stubborn fanboys". I will just give one example of how terrible this movie is. There is one scene in a casino where an alien dressed like Mr. Monopoly Pennybags (monocle and tuxedo) tries putting coins in BB-8, mistaking the droid to be a slot machine. Later in the movie, BB-8 fires these coins and kills stormtroopers. Let that sink in. I've polled 30+ friends/family/co-workers on this movie. My admittedly informal poll found that those that thought the movie to be terrible were older, male, successful, traditional values, and of higher IQ (not all mutually exclusive). Anybody that was a big fan of the original trilogy categorically loathed the movie. Those that loved the movie (I found very few) were typically children and younger adult females. If you loved the movie, I'm very happy for you. In fact, I'm jealous. But just know the way in which you are entertained is very different than the way in which I am entertained. Disney horrifically changed the tonality and subsequent audience for these films. They clearly pivoted the brand. I think I speak for many people given the negative user scores and quickly eroding gross receipts. To that point, sadly I will not be going to Solo or Episode IX on opening weekend as I typically do. I may not go at all. I'll wait for the reviews first. This movie was so bad that it made me stop caring about Star Wars

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 5:13:45 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Why did they use a collection of impossibly slow bombers flying DIRECTLY AT a 'Dreadnought'? (No you can't simply blame Poe for the mission, Leia was his superior, she could've overridden him. And I'd say worst of all, they wrote Luke out of the film after a cowardly way of facing Kylo Ren, while not writing out Leia. This is THE worst Star Wars film yet made, the prequels were objectively better films than this monstrosity, and felt more like Star Wars films. Compared to this pathetic attempt at a family-friendly Star Wars.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 5:05:50 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    There are some great scenes in that movie. But sadly, the price for seeing them is too high. There is no consistency in the characters, the arcs or the setting. Things happen without reason. There is no payoff to anything that was promised by the first movie in the new trilogy and to my discontent, there is no narrative coherence. Also but not the worst: cringy, childish/cartoonish and partially obstrusive humor, strange choices made by the characters, hollow performances, weird romance and a pointless 30 minute detour? Why can Rei use all the jedi tricks without proper training? Purple Lady had a very late realization. Casino planet? A lot of wasted potential. I'm flabbergasted. Switching directors mid-trilogy seems to be a poor choice in hindsight. I think I just should stop caring, it's not worth it anymore.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 5:03:28 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I went to see this movie on opening Friday, largely because of the great "critic" reviews. What a disappointment! Fundamentally it is just a mess of a story and takes easy ways out and destroys iconic characters from the originals. I really wanted to love this film.. but I feel nothing but betrayal and disgust. As a man, I felt personally insulted by all the feminist messages. If I want to be told how stupid, incompetent, reckless, weak, cowardly, farcical men are, I'd stayed at home or at work. Thanks a lot for making Star Wars a travesty.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 5:01:25 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Don't take a fan's words take Mark Hamil's, "He’s not my Luke Skywalker, but I had to do what Rian wanted me to do because it serves the story well”. This movie added NOTHING to the lose of Star Wars. You learn more about the characters in the movie from interviews rather than the movie its self. No resolution on Snoke, Knight of Ren, C3PO red arm, Rey's parents etc. The managed to actually make you not care if there is another film. Sadly the director Rian Johnson has been charged with creating another trilogy... The movie lacked originality, this Star Wars is a cross between Space Balls/ Speed (if your star ship slows down below this speed you blow up) and Mary Poppins (Leia). The social justice warriors got a hold of the script made sure every evil person is white, all men an inept, and all women are the fearless always right, wise heroes. They just forgot to make it interesting... Very sad day for the Star Wars franchise.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:56:07 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The writing is very poor, plot holes all over the place, pointless characters (Rose)... in one movie Rian Johnson and Kathleen Kennedy managed to destroy everything good about Star Wars. The treatment of Luke’s character is so poor, so lazily put together, so incoherent, so blatantly disrepectful of the original trilogy... What boggles the mind is how nobody (apart from Mark Hamill, bless his heart) tried to course correct this absolute insult of a movie. This isn’t bad because people “refuse to accept change” or “didn’t get what they wanted” or “have a problem with strong female characters”... this is bad because the writing is absolutely brain-dead.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:52:26 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    It's an atrocity. Please remake this before you do episode 9. Disney has destroyed lives with this. I say boycott Disney all across the globe. Amusement parks, movies and toys. This was heresy!!

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:49:17 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I feel so bad for today's kids. I grew up on the original Star Wars trilogy, which clearly laid out how love, calm, and self sacrifice = the Light side of the Force, and hatred, anger, selfishness = the Dark Side. It was clear cut, and helped guide my moral compass growing up almost as much as anything. Luke emobodied these ideals and struggled with the darkness and the light through his 3 movie arc before solidifying himself as the greatest hero in the history of movie-dom by saving his father and the galaxy. And now we have TLJ, where Disney throws everything we hold dear out the window. Luke is destroyed and treated lower than dirt. The Force and how it works is destroyed. The rebellion is destroyed. Everything the rebellion worked for in the original trilogy is destroyed. The beloved Admiral Ackbar is unceremoniously flushed in favor of a new purple haired character nobody cares about or will remember. And the main character Rey, who I am supposed to be rooting for, is essentially a Sith in the employ of the Resistance with her rampant use of untamed dark side power. Don't worry though, the porgs and horse-dogs are saved! yay! Long live Supreme Leader Ren and the victorious First Order! This film leaves people with ZERO anticipation for episode 9. Are 30 people (the entirety of the Resistance now fits in the Falcon) going to defeat a galactic Empire of billions? Who will lead the Resistance since we know Leia is dead IRL? Will they pull some other random pink haired lady from the back or do we need to wait 10 years for broom boy? Will Kylo finally turn good after slaughtering the entire galaxy or will Rey defeat him? Who cares. I'm out. See you later Disney. I'm going to go hug my pre-special edition VCR tapes of the original trilogy and cry.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:44:05 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    One of the worst movies I have ever seen... I’m a huge Star Wars fan and Rogue One was a fantastic movie... the plot, the acting, the dialogue for this movie were some of the worst I’ve ever seen. Sure the cinematography was par for the course along with the cgi effects but that can’t make up for the shortcomings of a terrible story with horrendous pointless subplots

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:41:28 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Basically, this is the worst film I have seen in my life. I want my 2.5hours back. I do not regard it as a Star-Wars film, as it contains nothing that made the other films enjoyable. In my opinion, it is merely a trashy Sci-Fantasy film filled top to bottom with self inconsistencies and bad comic relief.