Dartmouth Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.72 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Rating: PG
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 8:12:34 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Despite personal preferences this is a new nadir for the sw universe and movies in general. Don't listen to the on payroll critics.Even Luke dislikes this latest money-grabber from Disney.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 8:11:03 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Rian Johnson's disaster goes out of it way to destroy all of the most popular characters while bringing in the most unlikable new characters that completely lack depth or plausibility. I was snickering through out the movie. Furthermore, it has more plot-holes than the rest of the series put together. Extremely poor writing.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 8:08:14 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    There is not much to state, it's just a dump on the story, the timeline and what was achieved in the first trilogy. If you want a mindless film, it's good, if you want a Starwars Saga, this is not a movie for you.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 7:43:17 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Visuals: 10/10 Sound: 9/10 Plot: 1/10 Dialogue: 2/10 This was NOT a Star Wars movie. The characters motivations to do what they did made absolutely no sense in the context of what we know about them from Eps 1-7. I left the movie feeling completely conflicted. Enjoying the fun visuals, but having no idea what they are even going to do in Episode 9 with no actual remaining conflict besides Rey and Kylo flying around for a movie before they have a battle? What kind of terrible writing do you have to do to kill off all the interesting characters, character assassinate the other interesting ones and then end the movie with no where to go? Boring boring boring boring. No rewatches required. This made JJ's Episode 7 look like a solid 8-9/10 and the prequels actually worth rewatching. Garbage. Burn it with fire. Not canon.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 7:37:32 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I enjoyed TFA and loved Rogue One, but after this, I see they are sacrificing everything that made Star Wars what it was to push radical politics and make a quick cash-grab. It wouldn't be so bad if they didn't give this hack director (who was solely responsible for this mess of a story) his own trilogy! He quite clearly does not know how to write or direct Star Wars, and judging by this, shouldn't even write or direct a television commercial. Avoid this movie and disregard Disney's decree to wipe most of the Star Wars canon if you even liked the franchise a little. You have eight good movies and a ton of books, comics, and games that are both cannon directly from Lucasarts and EU. Avoid this movie if you are even a casual fan of any type of entertainment and don't feel like wasting your money.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 7:33:08 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I have never bothered to write an online movie review in my life before this. This is how strongly I feel about how disappointing TLJ was. I loved the Force Awakens. This movie was utter garbage. Looking forward to JJ Abrams returning to the helm for the next movie. I think switching directors hurt this film greatly.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 7:24:35 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Disney has clearly strong armed or threatened the critics into writing positive reviews for their cash cow. This is not merely a terrible Star Wars movie, it is a terrible movie period.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 7:14:01 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is NOT Star Wars nor is it the Luke Skywalker from the original trilogy. Mark Hamill confessed all this months ago, even stating he simply had to view it as a different character. Why in the world, would Luke attempt to slaughter his nephew (his sister Leia and Han's child) in his sleep with a lightsaber merely because he sensed the Darkside within Ben/Kylo? That makes absolutely no sense. Especially considering the whole point of Return of the Jedi was Luke's mission to prove to Yoda and Obi-wan that there was still good in Darth Vader and he wasn't beyond hope. This film completely neutured RotJ AND Luke! Also, it retconned Force Awakens (ignored previous plot points) so badly that I can't believe Disney approved it. Wth happened to the Knights of Ren? And perhaps my biggest bief...they set up a whole scene to involve a mysterious gambler known as The Hacker. Wth wasn't this Lando? WHERE IS LANDO? He was one of the four and he's not even in the sequels? Billy Dee Williams was never approached by Disney or Lucasfilm to do ANY of the sequels. Don't listen to the false claims. Finn, Rey, Rose, BB-8, Poe and Kylo are about as interesting and deep as the Candlestick from Disney's Beauty and the Beast. UGH! I won't even mention the atrocious editing. This film is being compared to Empire Strikes Back by Disney plants and fanboys. NOTHING about this film is worthy of such a comparison. Trust me. I was born in 1975 and lived, breathed, slept, and ate Star Wars. THIS is not that. I prefer the George Lucas prequels tbh

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 7:10:52 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Even Mark Hamill hates the movie .... Enough said but I guess I can't just say that, can I.. when you go to see a star wars movie you expect to see certain things, unique original worlds epic battles good characters with reasonable and understandable motivation. at the very least an epic adventure the movie unfortunately has nothing of that, instead we have a boring long movie with underwhelming villains and heroes. if one thing the movie did succeed in, it was getting me uninterested in seeing the next one.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 7:08:09 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    When Episode VII came out I was under the impression they were setting things up to portray the old heroes as nothing but losers... I wish I could say I was prepared for what they had in mind for us this time around. No way I could have foreseen to which degree they would degrade the heroes of old (particularly Luke Skywalker) and the Skywalker bloodline in this movie. When The Last Jedi ended I thought at first that I would leave the movie theather feeling sad or even angry about it, but, in the end, I didn't. I felt indifferent. I don't care about it anymore. Nor does my girlfriend, my mother and nor does my 12 years old brother. Star Wars is over, this new Disney stuff is a joke and we the fans are the clowns.